Mei Hong
    Professor of Chemistry
     Massachusetts Institute of Technology
     170 Albany Street
     Cambridge, MA, 02139
     Tel: 617-253-5521
1992 - 1996    Ph.D. Chemistry, University of California Berkeley
1990 - 1992    B. A. Chemistry, summa cum laude, Mount Holyoke College
2014 -             Professor of Chemistry, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2007 - 2010    John D. Corbett Professor, Iowa State University (ISU)
2004 - 2014    Professor of Chemistry, ISU
2002 - 2004    Associate Professor, Department of Chemistry, ISU
1999 - 2002    Assistant Professor, Department of Chemistry, ISU
1997 - 1999    Research Assistant Professor, University of Massachusetts Amherst
1996 - 1997    Postdoctoral Fellow, Department of Chemistry, MIT
Awards and Honors
      2018   Nirit and Michael Shaoul Fellow, Sackler Institute of Advanced Studies, Tel Aviv University
      2016   Fellow of the International Society of Magnetic Resonance (ISMAR)
       2016   Edmond de Rothschild lecturer, Institut de Biologie Physico-Chimique, Paris
      2014    Günther Laukien Prize, Experimental NMR Conference
       2013    Award for Outstanding Career Achievement in Research, Iowa State University (ISU)
       2012    Protein Society Irving Sigal Young Investigator Award
       2010    Founders Medal, International Council on Magnetic Resonance in Biological Systems
       2010    Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science
       2007    The first John D. Corbett Professorship
       2007    Mid-Career Research Award, ISU
       2006    Agnes Fay Morgan Research Award, Iota Sigma Pi
       2004    Mary Lyon Award, Mount Holyoke College
       2003    Early Achievement in Research/Artistic Creativity Award, ISU
       2003    Pure Chemistry Award, American Chemical Society
       2002    Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellow, Sloan Foundation
       2001    CAREER Award, National Science Foundation
       2000    Research Innovation Award, Research Corporation
       1999    Beckman Young Investigator Award, Beckman Foundation
       1998    POWRE Award, National Science Foundation
       1997    National Institute of Health Postdoctoral Fellowship
       1992    American Chemical Society Undergraduate Award, Mount Holyoke College
Research Interests
           My research focuses on the development and application of high-resolution solid-state NMR spectroscopy to determine the structures and dynamics of biological macromolecules. Driven by important biological questions, I develop magic-angle-spinning solid-state NMR methods and novel structural-analysis approaches that measure interatomic distances, protein conformations, protein dynamics, and intermolecular binding. These techniques not only probe the common 1H, 13C and 15N spins but also detect 19F, 31P and 2H spins, which diversify the chemical and biophysical questions we address. Currently we are studying three classes of biomolecular systems: virus membrane proteins, amyloid fibrils, and plant cell walls. In the membrane protein direction, we are investigating the influenza M2 protein family and viral fusion proteins. In the second direction, we study the structures and assemblies of amyloid fibrils that are involved in Alzheimer’s disease, formed from peptide hormones, and designed for catalysis. In the third direction, we bring multidimensional correlation NMR spectroscopy to bear on the energy-rich plant cell walls, to understand how cellulose, hemicellulose, pectins and glycoproteins combine to form a three-dimensional network that is both strong and able to loosen during plant cell growth.
           By the end of 2017, > 176 publications, with a Web of Science cumulative h-index of 51.